Posted by: fatherandson | 11 July 2007

Let’s sing to wipe off anxiety

After being informed of a delegation of professors and students from Washington University coming to exchange with Mai Linh Center, all of my students really got kind of anxiety. Some of them expressed their true feeling of being very worried about how to survive from working with American students. 🙂 It is easy to understand because it is the first time for more than half of the students to meet foreigners.

With the help from PeaceTree Project Office, a detailed schedule has been worked out for the delegation. During their visit to Mai Linh center, they will replace me, your teacher, in five lessons. It means I would still go to class but only act as an assistant to American teachers.

Tuesday is always devoted to free talk. But it wasn’t last Tuesday. My students kept me busy with a lot of questions, such as what should I prepare to welcome the delegation? should we tell them about Quang Tri? would it be all right to put questions to American teachers? should we prepare any gifts for them?…etc. I tried to answer as much as I could in order to convince my students that Americans are friendly, frank and open. To conclude, I gave them a list of tips when working with Americans.

  1. Dress nicely or neatly.
  2. Be friendly and open.
  3. Speak slowly and clearly.
  4. Arrive at class on time.
  5. Be cooperative.

Finally, the class came to an agreement that the students would sing a song to welcome the delegation. Thanks to Quynh Trang, I wrote down the song ‘Proud of you” on the board. Suddenly, the class turned into a choir.

Love in your eyes
Sitting silent by my side
Going on Holding hand
Walking through the nights

Hold me up Hold me tight
Lift me up to touch the sky
Teaching me to love with heart
Helping me open my mind

 

I can fly
I’m proud that I can fly
To give the best of mine
Till the end of the time

 

Believe me I can fly
I’m proud that I can fly
To give the best of mine
The heaven in the sky

 

***

 

Stars in the sky
Wishing once upon a time
Give me love Make me smile
Till the end of life

 

Hold me up Hold me tight
Lift me up to touch the sky
Teaching me to love with heart
Helping me open my mind

 

I can fly
I’m proud that I can fly
To give the best of mine
Till the end of the time

 

Believe me I can fly
I’m proud that I can fly
To give the best of mine
The heaven in the sky

 

Can you believe that you lie down my way, no matter how that is my birth, I never loose my day.

 

See me fly.
I’m proud to fly up high.
Show you the best of mine.
Till the end of the time

 

Believe me I can fly.
I’m singing in the sky.
Show you the best of mine.
The heaven in the sky.

Nothing can stop me to spread my wings, so wide

Leave a Reply

Categories

